Our Board of Directors is composed of dedicated individuals who make sure everything we do connects back to our mission—creating opportunities for quality education, financial stability, and good health to ensure real, lasting change for individuals and our communities.

Each year, the Board and Staff of United Way of Bucks County join together in nominating and recognizing standout United Way volunteers for their effort on behalf of the organization.

Fill out the form below to submit your nomination for the Board Excellence Award. Please submit your entry by Wednesday, March 20, 2024.

If you need further information or have any questions, please contact Katie Matarazzo at 215-949-1660 ext. 101, or via email at katiem@uwbucks.org.



Learn more about the Board Excellence Award below.

This award pays homage to the Kelton and Sauerbry Awards. These past awards were named after Dr. Stanton Kelton and Paul Sauerbry who over their years of service with the organization, exemplified what it means to serve our community.

The Board Excellence Award will combine those awards to recognize a Board Member who excels both in board leadership and contributions toward the goals of United Way and its mission in our community in a given year. The recipient should be someone who has given extraordinary and continuous service to the United Way of Bucks County and should serve on at least one committee.

The award winner will earn the privilege to designate a member agency to receive $2,500 from United Way of Bucks County.  (In the past, the Kelton Award carried a donation of $1,000.)

All members of the Board of Directors are eligible with exception.

Board members can win this award only once in their board career. Similarly, those who have previously won the Sauerbry Award (for body of work) are not eligible for this award. Those who have previously won the Kelton Award (year of service) are eligible.

Our Board of Directors is invited to use the list of members below for peer nomination.

If you feel that a second Board Member is worthy of this award you may nominate up to two people.

Use the text box below to elaborate on why you have selected a particular person. Please include a few sentences explaining why you are nominating this person for the award.

The person with the greatest number of nominations will receive the award. In the case of a tie, prior winners who remain on the board will select the recipient.

The Board Excellence Award will be presented yearly at our Annual Meeting. In the event there are no nominations we will forego the award for that particular year – we are not required under any bylaw to award yearly.

2022 – Kristen Elder

2023 – Matt Hanson


Join us in changing lives in Bucks County for good by making a donation today. Donations can be made online or by mailing a check to, United Way of Bucks County, 413 Hood Blvd., Fairless Hills, PA 19030.