Kelton and Sauerbry Award Nominations – 2020

Each year, the Board and Staff of United Way of Bucks County join together in nominating and recognizing standout United Way volunteers for their effort on behalf of the organization. The Paul Sauerbry and Stanton Kelton Awards represent our highest honors.
Below you will find the description of each award. By way of process, the previous winners currently active with the Board are eligible to review the nominations and select the winners. The award will be bestowed at our Annual Meeting in May.

Fill out the form below to submit your nominations. **Please submit your entries by: Friday, February 21, 2020.



1975 - Mauriel McDonald
1976 - Lois Johnson
1977 - John T. Welsh
1978 - Nancy Perry
1979 - John Garber
1980 - E. V. Ludwig
1981 - J. P. Perry
1982 - C. Horace Tranter
1983 - Stanton C. Kelton, Jr.
1984 - William & Eleanor Ridge
1985 - James Bartholomew
1986 - Harry S. Kent
1987 - J. Peter Dominick
1988 - Ralph Samuel
1989 - Carl N. Wallnau, Jr.
1990 - John Knoell
1991 - John F. McCaughan and Robin Carson
1992 - Grover Friend
1993 - Muriel Foley
1994 - Dave Belonger
1995 - Samuel Snipes and Anthony Burton
1996 - Kathleen Dominick
1997 - Mark Worthington
1998 - Sally McCormick
1999 - Jacqueline Bowers
2000 - Kathy Brett
2001 - George Klein
2002 - Dr. Gary L. Bowman
2003 - Harold F. Oswald, Jr.
2004 - Karen Dawkins
2005 - Seth McCormick
2006 - Dave Gondak
2007 - W. Martin Moran
2008 - Dr. Richard O. Coe
2009 - Patrick Counihan
2010 - James J. Dowling
2011 - Thomas P. Donnelly, Esq.
2012 - Francine E. Block
2013 - Bruce Iacobucci
2014 - Nan Mauro
2015 - Patricia Walker
2016 - Vince Mandes
2017 - Mike Connor
2018 - Brian Jeter
2019 - Francis J. Sullivan


1994 - Kathy Brett
1995 - Mark Worthington
1996 - Sally McCormick
1997 - Karen Dawkins
1998 - George Klein
1999 - Nancy Blois
2000 - Gary L. Bowman
2001 - Dave Gondak
2002 - Larry Hinton
2003 - Martin Moran
2004 - Bill Brady
2005 - James Dowling
2006 - Gene Maffey
2007 - Richard O. Coe
2008 - Debra Lakis
2009 - Anna Marie Mauro
2010 - Bruce Iacobucci
2011 - Lynn T. Bush
2012 - Michael B. Connor
2013 - Francis J. Sullivan, Esq.
2014 - Brian Jeter
2015 - Nate Smedley
2016 - Jeane Coyle
2017 - Todd Alderfer
2018 - Catherine McElroy
2019 - Brian Papsun


2003 - Grover J. Friend
2004 - Samuel M. Snipes, Esq.
2005 - Betty Tatham
Rev. Al Krass
2007 - William H. Eastburn
2008 - All Past Board Members
2016 - Calkins Media

2019 - David J. Gondak


Criteria for United Way of Bucks County’s Paul Sauerbry Award

The recipient of this award should be an esteemed member of the Board of Directors, Campaign and Resource Development, Community and Agency Services, Labor, Communications, Personnel, or Strategic Planning Committees.

The recipient should be someone who has given extraordinary and continuous service to the United Way of Bucks County organization.

Leadership Responsibilities: Most recipients of this award have served as Board President or a Chair of a major program of United Way of Bucks County.

The recipient is someone who has had a variety of organizational responsibilities and usually has served on two or more different committees.

Continuous Service: Most past recipients have served United Way of Bucks County for 10 years or more.

The recipient has shown exceptional devotion to human care through United Way of Bucks County.

The recipient has had outstanding achievements in regard to specific United Way projects.

Criteria for United Way of Bucks County’s Dr. Stanton C. Kelton, Jr. Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a United Way of Bucks County Director for significant contribution in a given year toward the goals of United Way and its mission in our community.

Whereas Stan Kelton was active for many years in Bucks County to better the community he called home, he felt passionately about fundraising for worthy causes. Stan served on the United Way of Bucks County Board of Directors continually since 1966. He was involved in various campaign volunteer positions. During the last year of Stan’s life, he served as the Leadership Giving Chair for the 1992-93 campaign. In as much as Stan will never be replaced within the many organizations that benefited from his work, we at United Way of Bucks County would like to keep his passion alive with this annual award to recognize an outstanding Board Member.

Kelton and Sauerbry Award Nominations - 2020

  • NOMINATION FORM Paul Sauerbry Award

  • I would like to nominate_________________________ for the “Paul Sauerbry Outstanding Volunteer” Award. This person should exemplify a lifetime of outstanding service to United Way of Bucks County.
  • NOMINATION FORM Dr. Stanton Kelton Award

  • I would like to nominate_________________________ for the “Dr. Stanton Kelton Outstanding Volunteer Award.” This person should exemplify outstanding service to the United Way of Bucks County organization during the past year.

**Please submit your entries by: Friday, February 21, 2020.
If you need further information or have any questions, please contact Katie Matarazzo at 215-949-1660 ext. 101, or via email at